La Parroquia de San Miguel Arcángel, the current parish church of San Miguel, is unique in Mexico and is the center of the town, easily the most
identifiable landmark of San Miguel.
In front of the Parroquia is the Jardin, or Plaza Allende a center square and gathering place for town.
The original church was built in the 17th century. The current Gothic façade was constructed in 1880 by Zeferino Gutierrez, who was an indigenous bricklayer and architect.
It is said Gutierrez’s inspiration came from postcards and lithographs of Gothic churches in Europe; however,
the interpretation is his own and more a work of imagination than a reconstruction.
The San Rafael or Santa Escuela Church founded in 1742 is located to the side of the parish.
At the entrance of the main church, there is an inscription that states that Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla and his brother Jose Joaquin served as priests here. There is another one acknowledging Gutierrez’s work on the façade.
The interior of the church still has the original 17th-century layout and interior design,
but the church was looted several times during Mexico’s history so much of its decoration is lost.
However, one significant image here is the “Señor de la Conquista”, which was made of cornstalk paste by indigenous people in Michoacán.
The sacristy contains a painting depicting the founding of the town in 1542 and its subsequent move to Izcuinapan in the El Chorro neighborhood.
There is a small crypt under the altar with access through a small door to the right.
The crypt of the church it is opened to the public one day each year, on November 2, Day of the Dead.